Australasian Poker Challenge Winners

Skip to main content
Australasian Poker Challenge

The newest edition to the Asia-Pacific poker scene was held at The Star Poker Room from 8 to 22 March 2016 with the inaugural Australasian Poker Challenge (APC).

The $2,200 APC Main Event featured three Day 1 flights and was Australia’s largest repechage event, meaning players who busted an early flight could buy back in to one or both of the remaining flights. The final field of 444 runners created a prize pool of $888,000. 

More than 1,500 players took part across the nine event schedule with the popular $330 Opening Event attracting 878 runners.

Some of the best local and international talent descended upon The Star across the seven event schedule, including Australia’s WSOP champion Joe Hachem, American high stakes pro Andrew Lichtenberger and WSOP bracelet winners Jeff Lisandro, Gary Benson, Mel Judah, Alexander Antonios, Andrew Hinrichsen, Jarred Graham, Rory Young and Sam Higgs.

25-year-old rising star Alex Lynskey, from Brisbane, began the week by winning the Opening Event for $52,680 then went one better by taking down the very first APC Main Event for $212,112.

By the time the final table of nine players was set he sat fifth in the chip counts but his skills shone through when it mattered most as he proceeded to build the big stack before outlasting runner-up Ray Lapitan in an epic heads-up battle that lasted three hours.

Aside from his prize money, Lynskey took home the inaugural APC Main Event trophy as well as a diamond and ruby encrusted gold ring from Cerrone valued at $9,500.

The $5k Challenge was the other event of note, attracting 126 entries and being won by local pro and High Rollers specialist Daniel Neilson. 

Tournament Winners

APC Main Event 17 to 21 March 2016

Alex Lynskey


Ray Lapitan


Andy Lee


James Rann


Peco Stojanovski


Zhi Ma


Nick Polias


Suraj Dutt


Rined Namrood



Bounty Sunday 20 March 2016

Errolyn Strang


Zac Vigar


Yanji Ge


Connie Lai


Alexander Astudillo


Liem Nguyen


Ronald Bean


Igai Augarten


Dean Blatt


Jamie Crawley



Pot Limit Omaha Thursday 17 March 2016

Tam Troung


Alexander Horowitz


Guilliano Nobili


David Campbell


Geoffrey Henshaw


Sam Higgs


Milan Gurang


Khac Tran


Benjamin Benoit


Bassam Habib



$5K Challenge 16 to 17 March 2016

Final table 17 March 2016

Official winner Daniel Neilson.
Deal completed between Daniel Neilson, Jarred Graham and Corey Kempson for 3 last place money spots.

David Wang


Jim Pizanias


Henry Wang


Alex Lynskey


Andrew Lichtenberger


Emmanuel Seal



Teams Tuesday 15 March 2016

Ishmail Sahin


Peco Stojanovski


Natt Armstrong


Johnathan Maurer


John Michael


Ali Elsalim


Paul Tartak


David Sanis


Josh Mitchell


Andrew Li



Turbo Monday 14 March 2016

Pankaj Gogia


David Hirst


Michael O'Grady


Alexander Horowitz


Michael Bouskila


Sam Ioannou


Gavin Tinline


Adrian J Slater


Daniel Simmons



Poker Media 6 - Handed NLH 13 to 14 March 2016

Final table 14 March 2016

Khac Tran


Theo Dharmasaputra


Jason Sarkis


Bassam Habib


Shivan Abdine


George Moussa


Gavin Tinline



Ladies Tournament NLH Saturday 12 March 2016

Mayra Ramos


Christine Hia


Connie Diakovasillis


Casey-ley Moane



APC Opening Event 8 to 13 March 2016

Final table 13 March 2016

Alexander Lynskey


Daniel Tsui


Steve Pappas


David Campion


Nicholas Wright


Demetris Lambrianides


Yibo He


Paul Murphy


Michael Kyriakou


Errolyn Strang